Recognized for Excellence

For the first time since 1979, the Orrville Area Safety Council was recognized with an Honorable Mention for the coveted Safety Council of the Year Award.  The recognition was presented by Sara Morrison, Ohio BWC Administrator, at the annual Safety Leadership Conference in Columbus on May 1.

“It is quite an honor for the Orrville Area Safety Council to be recognized as one of the top eight Safety Council programs in the State of Ohio,” stated Lori Reinbolt, president, Orrville Area Chamber of Commerce.

In attendance to receive the award along with Reinbolt were Safety Council Steering Committee members James Keplar, The Will Burt Company; Steven Penrod, P Graham Dunn; and Stephanie Hurt, Office Manager, Orrville Area Chamber of Commerce.

“I am honored to be a part of the Orrville Area Safety Council,” commented Keplar.  “This award speaks to the dedication of all of our members to promoting safety not only in their places of employment but at home and in the community as well.”

Michelle Francisco, coordinator of the Ohio BWC Safety Council program, cited the following accomplishments when announcing the award,

“In addition to offering high quality monthly meeting programming, the Orrville Area Safety Council has been dedicated the last few years to increasing its profile in the community, including promoting member participation in the Biggest Loser Community Challenge and the Orrville Walks program.   In 2016, the Council boasted 100% semi-annual reporting experience, redesigned its logo and introduced a new reservation system while also revamping their monthly Safety e-newsletter.”
Each of the 82 Ohio Safety Councils have the same goal – to increase safety awareness in the workplace.  The Ohio Bureau of Workers Compensation Division of Safety and Hygiene partners with local Chambers of Commerce to sponsor safety councils in local communities across the state. 

The Orrville Area Safety Council consists of 63 member companies located in Orrville, Rittman, Doylestown, Smithville, Marshallville, Dalton, Kidron and Apple Creek.  Lunch and learn meetings are attended by an average of 75 safety managers each month.
It pays to be an active member of your local safety council.  Employers who are part of BWC’s Safety Council Rebate Program can earn up to a 4-percent annual rebate on their workers’ compensation premium by fulfilling certain attendance and performance goals.
For the fiscal year ending June 30, 2016, almost 5,000 Ohio employers fulfilled the eligibility requirements necessary to earn that rebate and received a combined $9.6 million dollars for their efforts.
The Orrville Area Safety Council welcomes any business or organization located in eastern Wayne County to attend their lunch meetings on the second Wednesday of each month.  Meetings are held in the community room at White’s Ford on State Route 57.